Media, Pennsylvania First Time DWI/DUI Attorney
A first-time DWI / DUI conviction is a serious matter in the state of Pennsylvania. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you face the possible suspension of your driver’s license, jail time, and fines. Since insurance companies gather information on DUI arrests and convictions, you can expect your insurance costs to increase as well. If you drive a company car or are sentenced to jail, you could lose your job. While the consequences of a first-time DWI/DUI can be serious, how your attorney handles your case will often determine whether the charges or sentence against you is reduced.
First Time DWI Offense Conviction Penalties
In the state of Pennsylvania, DWI/DUI penalties are categorized according to one’s blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of their arrest. In general, the following penalties apply for first time DWI offense convictions:
- BAC between .08% and .099%: a fine of $300; drug and alcohol assessment, alcohol safety training, and court reporting evaluation required; six months probation.
- BAC between .10% and .159%: a fine between $500 and $5,000; a mandatory 48 hour jail sentence; up to 6 months in jail; a one year suspension of your driver’s license; drug and alcohol assessment, alcohol safety training, and court reporting evaluation required; eligibility for a DUI hardship license only after a 2 month suspension of your license.
The Preliminary Hearing and DWI/DUI Arrests
If there are questions surrounding how a field sobriety field test was conducted, the accuracy of a breathalyzer, or whether an officer had reasonable suspicion to pull you over in the first place, the preliminary hearing affords an excellent opportunity to have your case dismissed. During the preliminary hearing, prosecutors must establish that a crime happened and that, in all likelihood, you committed it.
Here, witnesses are called. In DWI/DUI cases, the arresting officer is almost always the sole witness. As a result, your attorney has an excellent opportunity to cross-examine the arresting officer and expose mistakes in procedure or failures in following proper protocols in giving DWI chemical tests.
First Time DWI? Contact Pennsylvania DWI/DUI Attorney John E. Kusturiss
A DWI arrest is a serious matter. In order to avoid additional complications and the potential loss of your license, contact DWI attorney John E. Kusturiss today.